How do you factory reset an iphone

How do I force my iPhone to factory reset?

Those steps to factory resetting your iPhone are listed again below if you need them in an easier-to-read format:
  1. Tap Settings > General > Reset.
  2. Tap ‘Erase all content and settings’
  3. Enter passcode/Face ID/fingerprint.
  4. Tap ‘Erase iPhone/iPad’
  5. Enter Apple ID password.
  6. Your iPhone/iPad will now factory reset.

How do you factory reset an iPhone without the password?

You can reset an iPhone, even without the password, by putting it into “recovery mode” or erasing it via Find My. If you don’t know what an iPhone’s password is or it’s been disabled, you’ll have to reset it to use it. Once you’ve reset your iPhone, you can use an iCloud backup to restore its data.

How do I completely wipe my iPhone?

How to Factory Reset Your iPhone
  1. Unlock your ‌iPhone‌ or iPad and launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.
  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  5. Tap in your passcode if requested.
  6. Enter your ‌Apple ID‌ password to erase the ‌iPhone‌ and remove it from your account.
  7. Tap Erase.

Does hard reset delete everything iPhone?

Hard resetting means removing everything that is on your iPhone. Performing a hard reset wipes out all the data from your device. On the flip side, soft reset pertains to simply turning off your phone and restarting it.

How do I reset my iPhone to factory settings without iCloud or password?

Reset iPhone without iCloud Password via PhoneRescue for iOS
  1. Connect your iPhone to the Computer. …
  2. Choose the Reset Mode. …
  3. Enter in Recovery Mode. …
  4. Download the Firmware Package. …
  5. Reset/Erase your iPhone.

What is the difference between factory reset and hard reset?

The two terms factory and hard reset are associated with settings. A factory reset relates to the rebooting of the entire system, while hard resets relates to the resetting of any hardware in the system.

Does a factory reset delete everything?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled. To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account.

Can you reset a locked iPhone?

If you can’t remember your passcode when you try again, you need to use a computer to put your iPhone in recovery mode. This process deletes your data and settings, including your passcode, giving you access to set up your iPhone again. After you erase your iPhone, you can restore your data and settings from backup.

How can I erase my iPhone without Apple ID password?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_3tm2VBDbv4

How do I securely wipe my iPhone?

Go back to Settings and tap General > Transfer or Reset [device] > Erase All Content and Settings. If you turned on Find My [device], you might need to enter your Apple ID and password. If your device uses eSIM, choose the option to erase your device and the eSIM profile when asked.

Does resetting iPhone delete contacts?

Resetting your iPhone will completely remove your settings and your personal info, like contacts, photos, etc. So, before you do a factory reset, try restarting your iPhone. This may help address minor software issues. If you decide to do a factory reset, you should back up your iPhone first.

Is it good to factory reset your phone?

You shouldn’t have to regularly factory reset your phone. … Over time, data and cache can build up in your phone, making a reset necessary. The best way to prevent the need for doing a factory reset and keep your phone running smoothly is to simply restart your phone a couple times a week and perform regular cache wipes.

Is factory reset enough before selling iPhone?

Is factory reset enough before selling the phone? Factory reset is an ideal way to wipe the storage and this is all you need to do before selling your iPhone. However, you must ensure that you have actually completed the entire process of factory reset.

How do I wipe my phone before selling it?

Go to Settings and tap on General. Select Reset and tap on “Erase All Content and Settings”. You might be prompted for a device passcode. Enter the passcode and tap on Erase.

Will a factory reset remove my Apple ID?

This will remove your iCloud account and disable Apple’s activation lock. … As long as you know your Apple ID and password you can recover your data after the factory reset.

Is factory reset safe iPhone?

All the data on an iOS device is encrypted using strong encryption by default. The keys that are used to encrypted and decrypt our data are stored on the devices. When you choose to “Erase All Content and Settings” the device “obliterates” the keys. So your data is basically still there but no-one can read it anymore.

Should I remove my SIM card before factory reset?

One last thing before you perform a factory reset: it’s time to remove your SIM card if you have one. Removal of the SIM card does not affect the reset process. … So, even if no SIM card is installed, the iOS software including the reset process still works normally.

Does erasing iPhone remove iCloud?

When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it will erase your device completely, including any credit or debit cards you’ve added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center and other services.

Will factory reset affect iCloud?

No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from. … Erasing your iPhone has only effect on the device itself.