What happens if you intentionally scratch in pool?
This situation applies in specific games whereby the opening break is administered or a player’s scratching is penalized by the incoming player having cue ball in hand behind the head string. … If the opposing player does not so inform the shooting player before the shot is made, the shot is considered legal.
What is the scratch rule?
The Billiard Congress of America defines a scratch — a shot on which the cue ball is pocketed — as a foul. Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn.
What happens when you scratch 8 ball pool?
In the official rules, if you scratch when you are shooting for the 8 ball, your turn is over and your opponent gets the ball in hand. If however, you make the 8 ball in a pocket and then scratch you lose the game.
Is scratching on the break in pool A loss?
According to the rules of play posted by the World Pool-Billiard Association, the governing body of pool, a player who scratches, or pockets the cue ball, on the break in pool does not lose the game.
What happens if you don’t hit any balls in pool?
8. Causing even the slightest movement of the cue ball, even accidentally, is a foul. It is not a foul to accidentally move any other balls (including the 8-ball) unless, during the process of shooting, a player moves a ball and it in turn strikes the cue ball. Even dropping the chalk on the cue ball is a foul.
Do you lose if you scratch?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
What are bar rules in pool?
In other words, “bar rules” = “anything goes at the whim of the people playing.” There is no official rule set for “bar rules” 8-ball, but here’s a good summary of the main differences between typical “bar rules” and the “official rules” of pool: there are no fouls (except scratches).
What happens if you scratch on 9-ball?
The 9-ball is pocketed. This is a win unless the player scratches, in which case the 9-ball (any other available high numbered ball is adequate) is spotted and the turn passes to the opponent with ball-in-hand anywhere on the table.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit the 8-ball?
3. If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand.
Where do you put the ball after scratching?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Do you have to hit your ball first in Pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul.
What happens if you foul on the black in pool?
If the black is pocketed from the break shot, the balls will be re- racked and the same player will restart the game. No penalty will be incurred. This applies even if a foul shot is played. … If a foul is committed, before groups are decided, then those balls are ignored in determining the groups to be played.
Why do I miss pool shots?
What are the most common reasons people miss shots that they should make? not enough care and focus given to actually visualizing and aiming the shot (see pre-shot routine). not enough care and focus given to accurately aligning the cue and tip for the shot (see pre-shot routine).
Do you lose pool if you sink the white on the black?
What happens when you sink the white ball in pool? This is called a “scratch” and is a foul in most cases, earning your opponent a ball-in-hand. On one hand, under special circumstances nothing will happen, on the other hand, you may completely forfeit the game.
What happens if you pocket a ball and scratch?
You lose the game if you: a. foul or scratch when pocketing the 8-ball (except on the break). NOTE – in some leagues and tournaments, a scratch or foul in a failed attempt to pocket the 8-ball also results in a loss.
Can you shoot backwards from the D in pool?
Is it Legal to Shoot Backwards in Pool? As long as the cue ball isn’t in the string, you can shoot the ball in any direction you’d like. Just keep in mind all the requirements of a fair shot and direction won’t matter.
What happens in pool if a ball leaves the table?
OBJECT BALLS JUMPED OFF THE TABLE. If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.